Traineeships in Brussels and Luxemburg
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
stevedale84

The importance of French Empty The importance of French

Tue Dec 17, 2013 5:15 pm
Just to let you know about my experience.
I had an interview today (finally!) with my favourite unit.  Very Happy it went pretty well, hopefully, but eventually the guy who called me remarked that I don't know French.
Besides mine, I speak two languages fluent and one at intermediate level but not French.
Earlier today I got informed that Legal Service didn't select me and the first thing I really thought was that my weak point is this one: not knowing French. While the Court of Justice uses it as its main language.
I am a lawyer and I did lobby, it seems to be working!  Wink 
I believe that for people with my background and also for others, French is simply fundamental... so I don't want to delude myself.
Your ideas, as usual?

Anyway, I replied by saying that I love learning new languages (which is true) and I am very interested in learning French as well!  lol! 
minnie mouse

The importance of French Empty Re: The importance of French

Tue Dec 17, 2013 5:29 pm
It's arguable whether French is fundamental or not, it depends on a particular unit or DG. While some are essentially francophone, in other there are trainees or even employees who can't speak French. Don't lose hope Smile
Other languages, on the other hand, may only be useful if you're interested in a unit that deals specifically with a particular country. If you're more into something "horizontal", forget - additional languages on your CV are tittle-tattle. You're not really going to use them at work, so they won't give you any advantage at the recruitment stage. C'est la vie. And yes, it applies to German too.
eeritrejaa

Tue Dec 17, 2013 5:57 pm
stevedale84 wrote:Just to let you know about my experience.