Traineeships in Brussels and Luxemburg
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
sunny87

Commission or Parliament? Empty Commission or Parliament?

Mon May 18, 2015 5:28 pm
Hello,

I was awarded two translation traineeships - at the European Commission (October-February) and at the European Parliament (July-September). I do not know which one to accept. Do any of you have some recommendations? Which one is "better"?
belledenuit

Commission or Parliament? Empty Re: Commission or Parliament?

Tue May 19, 2015 11:55 am
Hi and congratulations Smile. I don´t know which one is better, but I had a friend, who was a Commission trainee, saying the work in the Parliament is more diverse and interesting, but he was a lawyer and I am a translator Very Happy. I guess it depends on your interests and plans?
I have chosen the EP mainly because it works better for me timewise (I still have to go to university in autumn). And also because I am already in Belgium, so I wanted Luxembourg for a change Smile. But I have to say, that in the EC, I am only in the Blue book still and didn´t get an offer (yet?) - so I´m curious if it will happen as well, or not! But even if it did, I´m going to the EP.
belledenuit

Tue May 19, 2015 4:03 pm
ok, so I just got a phonecall earlier today and I was also accepted at the Commission Very Happy. Well then. What are you leaning towards at the moment? And what kind of traineeship are you doing Smile?
sunny87

Tue May 19, 2015 6:13 pm
I applied for a translation traineeship. I will choose the EC (apparently better traineeship organisation and the dates suit me more). But now I'm waiting for a response from the EP (I do not know if I can reject their offer if I had already accepted it). Do you know maybe know how this works? (We had to accept/decline the Parliament's offer by 17 May, but the EC started calling only this week.)
belledenuit

Wed May 20, 2015 9:03 am